BBQ Salmon Burgers!! AKA American Food Heaven

Standard

Well, I am back in the U.S.A.!  After a grueling 27 hour journey from Salvador, Brazil to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, I came home happy and ready to cook! My first night back I decided to go all out American and make some burgers.  Ground meat isn’t an option and I was looking for something a bit “meatier” than a veggie burger. After searching my Pinterest boards, I decided to make BBQ salmon burgers, from halfbakedharvest.com. (See link below) These burgers were not difficult at all to make and they were one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten.  The combination of the pineapple, the fresh salmon, and the tangy BBQ sauce was unreal.  I could eat one of these burgers everyday, and I am not even a big fan of salmon.

RECIPE

Ingredients

1/2 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce
2 tablespoons pineapple juice
2 tablespoons lime juice
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
pinch of cayenne
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 pound fresh, raw salmon (skin removed)
1/3 cup Panko breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons freshly grated parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon coconut oil
4 slices swiss cheese
pickeled jalopenos (optional)
4 king hawaiian hamburger buns or whole wheat buns, toasted
1 avocado, sliced or mashed (optional)
lettuce
Coconut Caramelized Pineapple
2 tablespoon coconut oil
4 large pineapple rings (preferably from a fresh pineapple)
2 tablespoon toasted coconut (optional)

Instructions

In a small bowl combine the BBQ sauce, pineapple juice, lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper and mix well to combine. Set aside for later.
Add salmon to the bowl of a food processor and pulse until it’s somewhat ground. You can also chop the salmon very finely with a sharp knife.
Remove and add salmon to a bowl with the panko bread crumbs, parmesan and 2 tablespoons of the hawaiian BBQ sauce from step 1 (save the rest for serving) and mix with a spoon until just combined. Form into 4 equally sized burgers. Heat a skillet (or grill) over medium-high heat with a tablespoon of coconut oil. Cook burgers on each side until golden, about 3-4 minutes per side. During the last minute of cooking add the swiss cheese and the jalapeños, if using.
In a separate skillet heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of coconut oil and place the pineapple slices in the pan. Cook for about 3-4 mins, flip and cook another 3-4 minutes.
To assemble place a piece of lettuce on the bottom of a bun, then the burger, mashed or sliced avocado and a ring of pineapple. Drizzle each burger with the remaining Hawaiian BBQ sauce.

For starters, it says to use a BBQ sauce of your choice.  I chose Sweet Baby Ray’s Sweet Vidalia Onion sauce and added all the necessary ingredients to give it a little kick.  I then moved on to the burgers themselves.  I cut the salmon into small cubes, added the ingredients, and formed the salmon mixture into patties.  When (notice I say when and not if) I make these burgers again, I think I will add an egg to the mixture to act as a bonding agent, because the patties were really difficult to keep together, even before I put them into the skillet. I used olive oil instead of coconut oil to cook the patties, simply because I am not a huge fan of coconut and I didn’t have it in the house.  That being said, instead of cooking the pineapple in coconut oil, I grilled it, completely eliminating the last step.  With a bit of struggle the burgers came out mostly in one piece. 

 

Image

The patties (after some effort)

I finally assembled the scrumptious burgers, staying true to the recipe, except I omitted the jalapeños because I am a huge baby and I can’t stand spicy food.  The burgers were AMAZING. After craving American food (or honestly just something other than rice and beans) for five weeks these burgers were like heaven.  I was on cloud 9 and so was the rest of the family.  My mom declared that it was the best thing I have ever made (a common proclamation made every time I try something new).  Even my incredibly picky sister declared them a hit, finishing her whole plate without a single complaint.

  Image

The pineapple. Om nom nom.

Since the burgers were so packed with flavor, I decided on some pretty simple side dishes to compliment them.  I made a batch of baked sweet potato fries and I steamed some asparagus.  I am obsessed with sweet potatoes fries and they are so easy and relatively healthy.  All I did was slice 2 large sweet potatoes into wedges, making sure they were pretty even so they would bake evenly.  I then tossed the wedges in 3 tablespoons of olive oil and added salt, pepper, and pumpkin pie seasoning to taste.  I baked them for 25 minutes and they came out crispy and delicious.  For the asparagus (which is in my top five list of favorite vegetables) I just threw a pound of asparagus in the steamer for 14 minutes, to assure crispness.

  Image

Major apologies for lack of photos and photo quality.  My camera broke when I was in Brazil! I will be fixing this soon!

The meal was honestly delicious and was just the healthy, hearty meal that I had been craving for weeks.  I honestly would highly recommend this to anyone.  Easy, flavorful, and quite honestly pretty impressive. 

Hawaiian BBQ Salmon Burgers with Coconut Caramelized Pineapple

One thought on “BBQ Salmon Burgers!! AKA American Food Heaven

Leave a Reply

